Star Wars Mimobot 8GB Flash Memory Drive Review & Giveaway

Taking a bite of Admiral Ackbar Mimobot

“It’s a trap!” Yeah, apparently USB drives taste nothing like calamari.

I remember back to my childhood when I’d bring over a box full of floppy discs to my friend Chris’ house to “trade” various games on the Apple IIe computer. Heck, I think I even brought my floppy drive over at times.

Nowadays, you just need a slick little Flash Memory Drive and you can store practically 1.21 gigawatts of data on something as small as your thumb. It’s crazy to me. Even more fun, though, is when companies get creative with their memory drives and make them in all sorts of crazy shapes, sizes, and characters.

I recently had a chance to test out Star Wars Mimobots Series 8 from Mimoco. Unless you’re ridiculously awful at reading comprehension (at which point you don’t even know what I’m typing in this parenthesis), you’ll realize that these items are based on the super-awesometastic movie series Star Wars.

I chose one of my favorite characters from the original trilogy: Admiral Ackbar, the Mon Calamari rebel pilot who joins Lando at the cockpit of the Millennium Falcon. First off, the USB drive itself is great. They come in four sizes: 8GB, 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB. I was given the 8GB version and even that is pretty enormous.

Admiral Ackbar USB Drive

Poor Admiral Ackbar has lost his head.

To use it, you just pop Ackbar’s head right off and stick the drive right into a USB slot on your device. Then just copy data right into the drive, take Ackbar out and repeat on another drive to transfer those files. Couldn’t be simpler!

The figure itself looks great and I really love the art style on all the Mimobots. It’s as if you took the real Star Wars characters, squished their bodies down and elongated their heads. My younger son Ryan was fascinated by it. First by how a USB drive works, and second he just loves playing with figures. So he grabbed Ackbar and brought him right into the game he was playing with Lego mini-figures.

The drive is big enough to enjoy, but small enough to easily just stick in your pocket and carry around with you. Really neat. Mimoco has a ton of great licenses for other Mimobots including G.I. Joe, Transformers, Hello Kitty, DC Super Heroes, Adventure Time, and more. Prices vary, though most of the 8GB ones seem to clock in around $17.95 to $19.99.

Buy your own Mimobot!

 Star Wars USB Flash Drive

Win your own Mimobot!

The mimotastic folks over at Mimoco were kind enough to provide me with an 8GB Jabba the Hutt Mimobot to use as a prize in a giveaway! So enter with the rafflecopter form below!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway ends on July 24, 2012 at 11:59 p.m. The winner will be chosen at random and announced on this site. Giveaway is open only to legal residents of the fifty (50) United States (including District of Columbia) who are at least eighteen (18) years old at the time of entry. The Winner will be notified by email and has 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.

I received the featured product and a copy to give away in exchange for my honest opinion. The thoughts and opinions expressed in this post are my own and in no way were influenced by the company providing the product.
(Visited 41 times, 1 visits today)
0
141 Responses
  • nadine m
    August 8, 2012

    I got my prize and my son LOVES it, just in time for school. Thank you so much

    • Andrew
      August 9, 2012

      Hey, Nadine! So happy to hear that! You should take a photo of your son with Jabba and share it! Congrats again!

  • Gianna
    July 24, 2012

    R2-D2 MIMOBOT® USB Flash Drive

  • Sarah Yurga
    July 24, 2012

    Darth Vader

  • brian e.
    July 24, 2012

    Thanks for the giveaway… we like the Hal Jordan x MIMOBOT.

  • amanda whitley
    July 24, 2012

    Yoda MIMOBOT

  • James Coyne
    July 24, 2012

    Cobra Commander

  • heather c
    July 24, 2012

    Love the Arlecchino MIMOBOT® by tokidoki

  • Beth
    July 24, 2012

    I’d like the Badtz Maru character!

  • meme
    July 24, 2012

    My son would love this my favorite though is batman

  • Laurie Emerson
    July 24, 2012

    I love the Hello Kitty.

  • susan smoaks
    July 24, 2012

    Batman x MIMOBOT®

  • Jaclyn Reynolds
    July 24, 2012

    The Joker one is awesome!

  • Sarah Harding
    July 24, 2012

    i like the Wicket MIMOBOT®

  • Thomas Chappell
    July 24, 2012

    I really like R2 D2 its looks really nice. My daughter liked the hello kitty

  • Kev
    July 24, 2012

    Ackbar….its a trap

  • Chrissy Nestor
    July 24, 2012

    I like the Joker!

  • Dave
    July 24, 2012

    Jabba’s tongue makes it…

  • Samantha
    July 24, 2012

    The Catwoman x MIMOBOT!

  • Harold D
    July 24, 2012

    Buddy Chub Rainbow

  • Sasha Dang
    July 24, 2012

    Hello Kitty Apple.

  • Brett McDavid
    July 24, 2012

    R2D2 for the USB and the win!

  • clynsg
    July 24, 2012

    I like the Swirl Mimobot.

  • Kim
    July 24, 2012

    I like the Hello Kitty® Apple MIMOBOT®

  • christina givens
    July 24, 2012

    Love the Yoda one

  • Allyson Bossie
    July 24, 2012

    Batman is the coolest

  • Amy Woods-Smith
    July 24, 2012

    I would want YODA!

  • Jamie Knupp
    July 24, 2012

    Han Solo MIMOBOT® with Carbonite carrying case – omg I love this!

  • Robert Pyszk
    July 24, 2012

    Do I have to have the one you put in your mouth? Just kidding 😀

    I would like the Batman one but any is fine!

    Happyskunky at yahoo dot com

  • Jean F
    July 24, 2012

    I love the Hello Kitty

  • Jamia Geer
    July 24, 2012

    I’d love the Hello Kitty Fun In Fields.

  • STEVE STONE
    July 24, 2012

    r2d2 or green lantern

  • Alexandra Roach
    July 24, 2012

    The batman. no brainer

  • Amanda K.
    July 24, 2012

    I’d love the RayD81 MIMOBOT!

  • Allison
    July 24, 2012

    I like Yoda the best.

  • Jaque R.
    July 24, 2012

    The Badtz-Maru x MIMOBOT® is so adorable! I would love to have that one. 🙂 Thank you.

  • Amber Cristofaro
    July 24, 2012

    I want them all!!! R2D2 would be my first choice though.

  • B
    July 24, 2012

    My husband loves the Batman one!

  • Kim W
    July 23, 2012

    Superman is my favorite, but the Joker one is also really cool

  • Erin E
    July 23, 2012

    I would most like to have the Hello Kitty® Balloon MIMOBOT®. Thank you for the lovely giveaway!
    Erin E
    busymom369 at gmail dot com

  • Dani
    July 23, 2012

    Love the Joker one the best!
    Dani recently posted..I See Your Barf Bag and Raise You a Bloody NapkinMy Profile

  • peter gladue
    July 23, 2012

    BatMan

  • Erika P.
    July 23, 2012

    I like the Monster Molly Mimobot.

  • Krystine
    July 23, 2012

    I’d love the Swirl MIMOBOT. I love the colors, and the ears are cute too.

  • lucas
    July 23, 2012

    the joker!

  • Jeff Lowe
    July 23, 2012

    The Joker looks awesome!

  • April V.
    July 23, 2012

    I like Optimus Prime!

  • brett m.
    July 23, 2012

    cheap of me, but i love admiral ackbar

  • Cody Anderson
    July 23, 2012

    Boba Fett is a classic.

  • Sonya
    July 23, 2012

    I love the Han Solo MIMOBOT® with Carbonite carrying case!
    Sonya recently posted..$25 Target Gift Card GiveawayMy Profile

  • John W Siskar
    July 23, 2012

    Boba Fett

  • chris s
    July 23, 2012

    any jedi drives?

  • Michelle W
    July 23, 2012

    My favorite is The Flash

  • Tom Shewbridge
    July 23, 2012

    I want the new Flash Flash Drive! Thanks for the chance!

    medictom@gmail.com

  • sarah t
    July 23, 2012

    i love the Hello Kitty® Fun In Fields MIMOBOT®

  • Chrystal J.
    July 23, 2012

    I like the The Joker x MIMOBOT®.

  • jules mcnubbin
    July 23, 2012

    i want the Hello Kitty® x MIMOBOT

  • Leslie Luke Stanziani.
    July 23, 2012

    I like Wicket since Yoda looks funny.

  • Valerie Taylor Mabrey
    July 23, 2012

    LOve the batman one
    vmkids3 at msn dot com

  • DAMIAN JARREAU
    July 23, 2012

    I like the Batman (The Dark Knight Rises Edition) X MIMOBOT®

  • Andrea
    July 23, 2012

    Jabba rocks! Batman is very cool too.

  • Eileen Burke
    July 23, 2012

    The Joker!

  • micheal dale grim
    July 23, 2012

    i would choose the transformers!!!

  • Mike
    July 22, 2012

    I would love to have the Optimus Prime.

  • Wendy
    July 22, 2012

    Finn MIMOBOT®

  • tamar
    July 22, 2012

    Buddy Chub Rainbow MIMOBOT®

  • Daniel M
    July 22, 2012

    i like boba fett!

  • ashley
    July 22, 2012

    I would love to have the pirate one!

  • samantha
    July 22, 2012

    I love the tokidoki adios

  • Paula Michele Hafner
    July 22, 2012

    I would love the Yoda one.

  • Dorothy Doll
    July 22, 2012

    Fairybit

  • Jennifer
    July 22, 2012

    I love the Batman one!

  • Aria B.
    July 22, 2012

    Badtz-Maru x MIMOBOT® USB Flash Drive

  • Alicia
    July 22, 2012

    Jabba the hut!!!!!!!!! <3 Jabba!!!

  • dani marie
    July 22, 2012

    love the stormtrooper unmasked one.

  • STEVE STONE
    July 22, 2012

    r2d2 would be cool or green lantern

  • Denise B.
    July 21, 2012

    I like “Hello Kitty”.

  • Susan F
    July 21, 2012

    Einstein flash drive.

  • Reyna Rivera
    July 21, 2012

    Chococat x MIMOBOT® USB Flash Drive

  • Anastasia
    July 21, 2012

    I love the Pantera MIMOBOT® by tokidoki 😀

  • Denise m
    July 21, 2012

    Han Solo or Yoda

  • Desmond
    July 21, 2012

    Yoda

  • Lesley F
    July 21, 2012

    Darth Vader Unmasked MIMOBOT®

  • Amber Gillespie
    July 21, 2012

    I LOVE the Mictlantecuhtli MIMOBOT® by Julio E. Carrillo and the RayD81 MIMOBOT®!
    Thanks from karmakaytlyn@yahoo.com!

  • Jennifer B.
    July 21, 2012

    I’d like the R2D2 mimbot.

  • John OBrien
    July 21, 2012

    I’d most like the Han Solo in Carbonite, but all to the Star Wars Mimobots are great.

  • Kelley Roach
    July 21, 2012

    emily the strange

  • Rita M
    July 21, 2012

    Would love to have the Emily the Strange Mimobot.

  • Katharine D
    July 21, 2012

    I like the Mimobot Stormtrooper Unmasked and the Mimobot Yoda

  • Selinda
    July 21, 2012

    I like the Snake Eyes MIMOBOT® USB Flash Drive!

    Thanks!

  • Cody
    July 21, 2012

    I love the Princess Bubblegum one
    cody_endres(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • ronda patrick
    July 21, 2012

    C3P0 is adorable! Brings back childhood memories. : )

  • Michelle H.
    July 21, 2012

    My husband would love the Batman X Mimobot

  • Kathlean Owens
    July 21, 2012

    THEY HAVE IT!!! Woo Hoo!! Boba Fett MIMOBOT® (ROTJ Edition)

  • JODI HARRINGTON
    July 21, 2012

    Wampa or carbonite Han Solo… too funny

  • Pauline M
    July 20, 2012

    Jabba would be awesome, but I really like the Jake MIMOBOT as well!

  • Daniel Thornton
    July 20, 2012

    I like the Catwoman x MIMOBOT

  • BM
    July 20, 2012

    I like the C3PO.

  • Peter
    July 20, 2012

    I love the Leia as Boushh MIMOBOT®

  • Katie Contests
    July 20, 2012

    Mommy’s Busy on Facebook: There was an error fetching the like box for the specified page.

  • Katie Contests
    July 20, 2012

    OPTIMUS PRIME!!!!!

  • nadine m
    July 20, 2012

    I’m loving the Hello Kitty® Balloon MIMOBOT®, cute

  • Kaitlin Wilson
    July 20, 2012

    Joker, definitely!

  • steve smith
    July 20, 2012

    optimus prime

  • Krabbman
    July 20, 2012

    I would love to have the Dark Knight Rises mimobot.

  • Jessica
    July 20, 2012

    I love the C3PO one!

  • Daniel Rainis
    July 20, 2012

    batman iss cool

  • Stephen Saunders
    July 20, 2012

    Haha, little Jabba rocks.

  • Anthony H
    July 20, 2012

    I like yoda

  • shari
    July 20, 2012

    yoda-mimomicro-card-reader

  • Theron Willis
    July 20, 2012

    I like the Domo X Mimobot!

  • Poi
    July 20, 2012

    C-3PO!!!!!!

  • Christian Kneisel
    July 20, 2012

    is cool

  • Sammi
    July 20, 2012

    so many! the jawa is always cute

  • Monique Rizzo
    July 20, 2012

    I like Yoda.
    Thanks for the chance.
    mogrill12@gmail.com

  • Dollye C
    July 20, 2012

    GiJoe

  • Misses Giveaways
    July 20, 2012

    C-3PO

  • Ang
    July 20, 2012

    I’d probably choose the hello kitty one, but I like the Jabba one too!

  • Sheryl
    July 20, 2012

    I would like the Hello Kitty Fun in the Fields or The Joker.

  • Karen L
    July 20, 2012

    I like R2D2.

  • ryan minton
    July 20, 2012

    slave leia and superman are quite cool! i wouldnt mind getting those!

    rypm25@aol.com

  • Peggy Rydzewski
    July 20, 2012

    YODA

  • Danielle
    July 20, 2012

    Han Solo MIMOBOT® with Carbonite carrying case

  • Katie Rose
    July 20, 2012

    R2D2

  • Kristen
    July 20, 2012

    WICKET!

  • Margaret Smith
    July 20, 2012

    I also love the Batman!

  • Cynthia C
    July 20, 2012

    I like C-3PO MIMOBOT®

  • Kristi C
    July 20, 2012

    I like the Bumblebee Mimbot.

  • Catherine Morrison
    July 20, 2012

    Boba Fett!

  • DARLA KIDDER
    July 20, 2012

    I want Darth Vader!

  • Anthony Assanti
    July 19, 2012

    I want R2D2

  • Renee G
    July 19, 2012

    I like Catwoman
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOt)com

  • Shannon Baas
    July 19, 2012

    Hello kitty apple.

  • Ann Fantom
    July 19, 2012

    I would like to get the Stormtrooper Unmasked MIMOBOT

    abfantom at yahoo dot com

  • Natasha
    July 18, 2012

    The optimus prime!

  • amy marantino
    July 18, 2012

    I want Yoda. Badly.

  • Maria
    July 18, 2012

    It’s tough to pick from just one of them, but the Hans solo in carbonite is really cool! 😉
    Maria recently posted..Nintendo Wii U ExperienceMy Profile

    • Andrew
      July 19, 2012

      Right? I totally want that carbonite Han!

  • Maria
    July 18, 2012

    Oh my gosh these are so cute. I don’t know how I would keep it away from my boys or even my geeky college friends.
    Maria recently posted..Nintendo Wii U ExperienceMy Profile

  • Jeffrey
    July 17, 2012

    My boys would love Optimus Prime!